Frequently Asked Question: What publishing path are you considering/did you take, and why?

insecure2bwriters2bsupport2bgroup2bbadgeToday’s question comes from the Insecure Writer’s Support Group.

My publishing path has been interesting. Technically, I suppose I’ve always been a hybrid author. I first published In The Eye of The Beholder electronically on my own, but the UK paperback (Turner Maxwell) and US paperback (TreasureLine) editions were traditionally published. I stayed with TreasureLine for You Had to Be There (re-released as Music, Mayhem, and Bad Decisions) and In The Eye of The Storm, while also working independently on eBooks and with other publishers on various anthology projects.

Turner Maxwell and TreasureLine were both small presses, and they are both now defunct. This means that rights reverted to me in both cases. I have republished my titles from those organizations independently. I still have titles in anthologies published by Thinking Ink Press (the “… Later” series), but rights on those stories have reverted as well.

So, I think it’s fair to say I’ve done everything except being part of the Big 5 … and I’m not ruling that out. However, I prefer going it on my own or with a small press at this point.

How about you? Are you a published author? Talk about your experience in the comments.

 

7 thoughts on “Frequently Asked Question: What publishing path are you considering/did you take, and why?

    1. I think that, a lot of the time, they try to grow their businesses too fast … and become swamped as a result. My UK publisher retired, and he was pretty much a one-man show. So, that’s understandable.

      I’m definitely not soured on small press; I just want to make sure that I find the right one to work with when I’m ready for a full-length submission again.

      Thanks for stopping by today!

      Like

Leave a comment