Blogging from A to Z: C is for Circumvesuviana

The ruins of Pompeii have seen a modern town, Pompei, grow up around them. Pompei largely depends on tourism for its existence. So, there are numerous hotels and restaurants. There is also a train system.

Circumvesuviana_mapsThe local stop for the Circumvesuviana (“around Vesuvius) train, which connects Naples to Sorrento and has numerous lines in between, was a stone’s throw away from our hotel. We were on the Poggiomarino line and used it to get to Herculaneum and Naples. We would have gone to Sorrento had I not been completely exhausted by dealing with a medical emergency on the part of one member of our party. I just needed some sleep!

What I didn’t realize until yesterday is that I had taken no photos of the train or the train station! So, I found a video on-line that shows both trains and stations along the line. While the trains are not much to look at, they’re remarkably efficient, and the riders are very polite. Enjoy!

 

12 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z: C is for Circumvesuviana

  1. That sounds like a wonderful way to see the scenery around Pompei. I prefer not to drive in unfamiliar places, so I love it when I can use public transportation to see a place.

    Like

  2. I totally love train journeys so… and I like the way how the name of the station describes exactly what it is. Brilliant.

    All the best for the challenge.

    Like

Leave a comment