Do you suffer from post-book depression? – Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers

I just finished a book. When I reach this milestone, I always think I should feel happy and excited, or at least satisfied. Instead, my mood seems to turn gloomy and anxious. Maybe it’s the panic of knowing I now have to send my baby out into the world to face criticism and potential rejection. Or the feeling of being at loose ends. How will I survive without a book in my head, a story to retreat into when real life gets tough? Or maybe it’s the looming challenge of what to write next that creates this sense of dread.

via Do you suffer from post-book depression? – Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers

2 thoughts on “Do you suffer from post-book depression? – Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers

    1. I experience it for a couple of weeks, even as I’m working on the next thing. I have a weird feeling in the pit of my stomach every time I send a new book out into the world.

      I’m glad you don’t experience it! It’s not much fun.

      Like

Leave a comment