Weekend Reads: “Trouble in Mudbug”

After several weeks of oh-so-serious books, I thought it was time for something fun.

Trouble in Mudbug (Ghost-in-Law, #1)Trouble in Mudbug by Jana Deleon

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’m not going to lie; this book was hilarious! Maryse Robicheaux is a research botanist, estranged from her husband Hank and desperately wanting to finalize a divorce. For appearance’s sake, she goes to her mother-in-law’s funeral … and soon has the ghost of Helen following her all over town, trying to get Maryse to figure out who killed her.

Then there’s zoologist Luc Lejeune, assigned to share office space with her … and who seems to be more than just the proverbial pretty face.

The mystery is tight and well-constructed, the “whodunnit” took me completely by surprise, and I was charmed by the interpersonal journeys each of the characters experienced.

I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and am definitely checking out the rest of the series.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Weekend Reads: “Trouble in Mudbug”

  1. Great review! It does sound like a fun read:) I’m ready for some lighter reading after three heavy memoirs, too.

    Like

Leave a comment