Sample Saturday: “It Happened in Memphis”

Hi, everyone.  It’s day two of Blogmas.  I decided to share one of the short tales from It Happened in Memphis and Other Stories.  This is still a work-in-progress, so the final draft may look a little different.

Fans of Bayou Fire will, of course, remember Amos and Diana … and Amos’ nephew, Jimmy.  This tale takes place several years after the events of the original novel.  Enjoy this little holiday snippet!


Winter Nights

“Are you sure you’ll be warm enough,” Amos asked as Diana stepped up into the carriage on Decatur Street.

“Amos, I am wearing so many layers I’m surprised I can put my arms down. I promise, I’ll be warm enough. If you’re that worried about me, you can put your arm around me. I think you know by now that I won’t bite.”

The rest of the group piled into the carriage behind them, snuggling close against the damp cold. At least it wasn’t raining … yet. Winter weather in New Orleans could be awfully fickle, ranging from thirty to seventy degrees, sometimes in the same day, and the chill was bone-deep when it came.

Laurie took the far back row, with Jimmy and Cindy in front of her. Evangeline and Harvard sat behind Amos and Diana, who were right behind the driver.

The open carriage was decorated with evergreens and red bows for the holidays, and the pretty appaloosa mule had a Santa Claus hat over one long ear.

“I’m Joe, and my partner up front is Mister Bojangles,” the driver announced as he took up the reins. “I’ll point out some of the sights as we go, and maybe even lead a holiday song or two if you all are so inclined. Walk on, Bo!”

With that, the carriage pulled away from the sidewalk. Joe kept a running commentary about the city’s history, talking about some of the more important historical sites. When they passed the three-story mansion at the corner of Royal and Governor Nichols, he told the story of the LaLaurie mansion fire … which made Amos and Diana shiver. They knew the history all too well.

The carriage route seemed to meander a little bit, but Mister Bojangles obviously knew the way. Joe led the group in a rousing chorus of “Jingle Bells,” and seemed a little surprised when full harmonies came from behind him.

“Oh, you’re all a musical bunch, are you? Well, let’s do a couple more before we get back to Decatur Street.”

A couple of the vampire walking tour guides gave the stink-eye to the group as they drove by, but Joe, his passengers, and Mister Bojangles paid them no mind. They were enjoying themselves far too much to care about naysayers.

When the ride was over, all too soon, everyone piled out of the carriage. Amos had to help Diana down, but even as cold and stiff as the ride had left her, she insisted on going to thank Mister Bojangles after she’d expressed her appreciation to Joe.

“You can give him some apple if you like, ma’am. Just keep your hand flat.”

Joe gave her an apple slice, which she offered to the mule. Bojangles took his goodie gently and then pushed his forehead into her.

“I think he wants more,” she laughed, after she got her balance.

“No, ma’am. He’s saying thank you, and Merry Christmas. And I say the same. You all have a good evening, now.”

It was just a short walk back to the house on Saint Ann, but no one dawdled in the cold.
“I hope you’ll all excuse me for a moment,” Diana said. She went into the bedroom and changed into her warmest flannel nightgown.

When she came back out, Amos had hot chocolate going on the stove for everyone to share. He’d already put a warm quilt on Diana’s favorite chaise longue so that she could stretch out in warmth and still keep company with everyone. He arranged a couple of pillows behind her back and kissed her forehead.

That, thought Harvard, is how I want to be with my wife someday. He stole a glance at Evie, hoping his thoughts didn’t show on his face.

“Let me help you serve,” Laurie said as Amos poured the chocolate into cups.

“Not a chance. You do enough of that at the café. I’m sure that between Harv, Jimmy and me, we can manage a few mugs of cocoa without incident.”

“Well, if you insist.”

“I do indeed. I also insist that you and Harv come to Lafayette for Christmas with us. No arguments allowed.”

“Well, if you insist,” Laurie repeated, a broad smile crossing her face.
The rain started outside just then.

“To being safe and warm for the holidays,” Jimmy said, raising his mug.

“Hear, hear” came the response from all around. It seemed the perfect toast for the evening.

Leave a comment