Weekend Reads: “DIY MFA”

Every once in a while, I come across a book that I find so useful that I want to share it with my friends, fellow authors, and readers right away.  Gabriela Pereira’s DIY MFA is just such a book.

DIY MFA: Write with Focus, Read with Purpose, Build Your CommunityDIY MFA: Write with Focus, Read with Purpose, Build Your Community by Gabriela Pereira

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I genuinely believe that reading business books, and implementing the practices that we find there that make sense for us, is an important part of being an author. We need to remember that the business side of writing is also a piece of the art.

So, imagine my delight upon discovering this title, which is a business book specifically for authors. Writer Gabriela Pereira distills the best advice she learned while obtaining her MFA and presents it in reachable, relatable way for her readers. She provides practical advice for setting aside writing time, building your community, and reading with purpose. Oh, yeah … there’s also some sound, practical advice about developing your author identity (aka your brand), pitching your stories, and more.

I started recommending this book to fellow authors before I was even halfway done reading it. I think it’s an important part of every author’s armamentarium.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

