Sample Saturday: Clytie’s Caller

Clyties_CallerToday’s sample is from my sweet Regency novella, Clytie’s Caller.  At the end, I’ve included a video of the dance Clytie refers to.  In this scene, Samuel and Clytie are talking to one another from opposite sides of a closed door.  Enjoy!


By the time Samuel finished reading “Emma,” Clytie was talking to him more.

“Mama had a very soft, pink dress made up for me,” she said.

“I should like to see it some day,” he replied.

“Maybe someday. I am still not able to leave the room.”

“Clytie, can you tell me what happened to keep you inside?”

“It was at Almack’s. I stepped out to get a breath of fresh air after dancing the ‘Sir Roger de Coverley’ …” she paused. “It was almost like what happened to Georgiana Darcy. And then, I started seeing him everywhere … and …”

Her voice broke.

“I must ask you to leave now, Samuel.”

“As you wish.”

Clearly, he had pushed too hard. And who on Earth was Georgiana Darcy?

Clytie’s Caller is also available as an audiobook, narrated by Stevie Zimmerman.

Leave a Reply

