Weekend Reads: “A Dog’s Purpose”

This is seriously one of the most beautiful books I have ever read.  If you are an animal lover, I guarantee that you will smile, and that you will cry.  I remembered every pet I’ve ever had during the course of this read, and why I love them all so much.

A Dog's Purpose (A Dog's Purpose, #1)A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

In my childhood, books that particularly moved me spent time under my pillow. It is, perhaps, an unusual form of comfort, but there you are. In adulthood, a very few books have done that. Some that come immediately to mind are Homer’s Odyssey, Love Saves the Day, and Christmas with Tucker. Now, “A Dog’s Purpose” joins that august crew.

I picked the book up at the airport because my eReader was running out of charge, and finished it in a single day. The first-person narrator is the dog we see through four incarnations: Toby, Bailey, Ellie, and Buddy. In each incarnation, the dog is learning more about what his life purpose is, whether it is doing search and rescue, or saving his beloved boy Ethan from a bully. Each incarnation adds another layer to the picture as our canine narrator makes his way from puppyhood to adulthood four different times.

I’ll admit, there were a lot of tears shed while I read. It started early on, when Bailey is born a golden retriever in a puppy mill. It’s his second incarnation. In the cage next door is a Dalmatian who is about to have puppies herself. Long-time readers may know that I’ve had Dalmatians for most of my adult life, but what you may not have known is that the first one was a rescue who had been a puppy mill mama. I was thus intimately connected to this book, not only because of my work in animal rescue but because of my beloved Ladybug.

It is in her memory that this book is now under the pillow.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

