Read an eBook Week 2017 Metrics

statistic-800px

Hi, everyone.  Each time I do a special promotion, I look at the metrics to examine trends.  This year, I offered all of my titles free of charge during Read an eBook Week except for two.  I discounted Hugs and Hisses; I don’t give it away because the funds go to Humane Society Silicon Valley.  Also, our publisher opted not to include Thirty Days Later in the promotion.

Anyway, nobody chose to purchase a copy of Hugs and Hisses during the promotion, but several people took advantage of the freebies.  There were a total of 54 “sales” during the seven-day promotion, broken down as follows:

Seen Through the Phantom’s Eyes: The Omnibus Edition: 14

Clytie’s Caller: 14

In The Eye of The Storm: 6

Through the Opera Glass: 4

In The Eye of The Beholder: 3

Brief Interludes: A Collection of Short Fiction: 3

The Rock Star in the Mirror (Or, How David Bowie Ruined My Life): 3

His Beloved Infidel: 3

You Had to Be There: Three Years of Music, Mayhem, and Bad Decisions in the Portland Music Scene: 2

Les Pensées Dangereuses: 1

2010 Hindsight: A Year of Personal Growth, In Spite of Myself: 1

So, what does all of this tell me? Well, first it tells me that people are still looking for freebies, and that’s fine. It also tells me that people are very much interested in “box sets” like my omnibus edition of the Phantom books.  It also tells me that clean/sweet Regency romance like Clytie’s Caller remains a big hit.  Non-fiction, like my memoir and essay collections, is always less of a seller even in the brick-and-mortar stores, so no real surprises there either.  This is, however, the first time that every single freebie offered had at least one taker; usually there are some complete strike-outs.  So, that was interesting as well.

My thanks to everyone who took advantage of the promotion.  I appreciate every one of you.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

