Weekend Reads: “Becoming a Leader of Character,” by Dave Anderson

Dave Anderson was one of the keynote speakers for a conference I recently attended for my day job.  I am not ordinarily moved to purchase the speaker’s book under these circumstances; this one was different.  The things Anderson said made a lot of sense to me, so I chose to add this volume to my business and leadership library.

Becoming a Leader of Character: 6 Habits That Make or Break a Leader at Work and at HomeBecoming a Leader of Character: 6 Habits That Make or Break a Leader at Work and at Home by Dave Anderson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Author Dave Anderson spoke at a recent conference I attended. I am not usually inspired to run out and buy the book after hearing speakers at this event, but that day was different.

Anderson, and his father (Gen. [ret] Jim Anderson), posit that the big problem in business today is that companies hire managers based on competencies (which can be taught) rather than hiring leaders. When managers fail, it is not because of incompetence; the Andersons maintain that these are failures of character. I would agree with that assessment!

The six habits of character are courage, humility, selflessness, duty, integrity, and positivity. The Andersons maintain that by exercising these six habits, one will become a leader of character. They give examples of ways to do that in the office, in the community, and at home. The anecdotes both men share about how they grew in character are helpful and frank. They do not hold themselves up as paragons of virtue, but instead as two men who are still learning and growing.

I was two chapters into this book when I showed to my own leader (a man who is damned good at all of these traits) and our site president/leader, who likewise sets a good example. Of the many business books I have read, this is the first time that I have felt compelled to share them with others.

Highly recommended.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

