Off-Kilter … and a Bonus Track

Things have been a little off-kilter, both at home and on this blog.  Between the Thanksgiving holiday, losing our dog Katie to old age, and getting ready to go “wheels-up” for another research trip to New Orleans, it seems like nothing is on schedule.

I’m taking five classes (thank goodness they’re all self-paced!), working a full-time job, and writing Bayou Fire.  How did all of this happen?  I think it sneaks up on us a little bit, you know?  We think we have all the time in the world, that we’re organized and can handle everything.  Next news you know, we’re feeling a little overwhelmed.

This trip is actually going to help with that.  I’ll be taking my time to learn and explore during the days that I have available in New Orleans.  My goal is to not repeat any restaurants, clubs, or visits from my last trip so that I can expand my primary source knowledge base.  I confess, the temptation to go back to Mulate’s is strong, because one of my favorite musicians will be playing there while I’m in town (I’ll include a video below).  However, I’m going to resist.  I think.  All-new experiences open the mind.

Anyway, here’s Cajun Music Hall of Famer Lee Benoit doing “Constant Sorrow.”

3 thoughts on “Off-Kilter … and a Bonus Track

    1. Thank you, Carolyn. 🙂

      I’m super-excited about “Bayou Fire.” It’s a historical paranormal (elements of reincarnation), taking place in both modern-day and 1830s New Orleans. I have never written anything like it before (everything else has been straight historical fiction), and I’m having a great time with it.

      Thanks for giving me an excuse, er, reason to go back to Mulate’s and hear Lee play again if time permits. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

