Bonus Track: “Man in Black,” by Johnny Cash

I decided to quit wearing black two years ago.  It was kind of scary, to be honest; three quarters of my wardrobe was black, and it was easy to get dressed.  It took a while to replace things, but I embraced wearing color.  I found that it gave me great joy, and I liked getting dressed in the morning.

In one bottom drawer, I kept two black tops.  I seldom opened that drawer, and I recognized that those black tops were like a security blanket of sorts.

I opened that drawer today when I got dressed, and donned one of those blouses for the first time in two years.  As I did so, I thought about this song.

Leave a Reply

