Facts from My Fiction: Lagniappe

crw_6201_525569465I didn’t know it then, but I was introduced to the New Orleans concept of lagniappe on my first night there.   I  wasn’t hungry enough for dinner, but I felt like I needed something small.  I stopped into one of the many cash-only dining establishments around town, this one on St. Peter, and got an order of mozzarella sticks.  The man behind the counter had a batch ready to go, and he served them to me with a side of lovely marinara.

A few minutes later, he was at my table with a steaming-hot mozzarella stick that he’d just made.  No extra charge, just a fresh piece of cheese to enjoy.

That’s lagniappe:  a little something extra, almost always unexpected and never asked for.  Think of it as the 13th donut in a baker’s dozen.

In Bayou Fire, restaurant owner Amos Boudreaux gives travel writer Diana Corbett a cup of hot cocoa as lagniappe early on in the story.  He then explains the concept to her.  Diana is in New Orleans on assignment … but there’s more to her story, and Amos, than she realizes.

I’m having so much fun working on this new book, and am returning to New Orleans in a month and a half to do more research.  I look forward to sharing stories and photos with all of you.

(Photo is in the public domain, via Wikimedia Commons.)

Leave a Reply

