Music Monday: Hot Chocolate, in Memory of Lillian

This weekend, a woman whom I have called friend for 41 years passed away unexpectedly.

I met Lillian Porter Parker Hancock when I was 11 and she was 12.  My family moved in down the street from her; she lived with the grandmother who had reared her from age two.  She was my first friend in the new neighborhood.  She had a grey cat named Smokey, and a blue parakeet named Perkins.  She had a crush on John Travolta.  She played the flute.  Her favorite color was yellow; I’ll be wearing a yellow blouse today in her honor.

Her favorite song was “Emma,” by Hot Chocolate.

There is a lot more to her story, but today I want to remember those early days when we would listen to this record in her room and talk about boys and all of our dreams for the future.

2 thoughts on “Music Monday: Hot Chocolate, in Memory of Lillian

Leave a Reply

